Our Beginning

The idea of a Hall of Fame for Women's basketball originated with Tony Candido. In the summer of 1987 five professional friends decided to casually meet to dream about establishing a Hall of Fame honoring individuals who have contributed to the enhancement of women's basketball in the State of Connecticut. (Read our CONSTITUTION)

We gathered in a restaurant owned by Dr. Ann Fariss located on Long Island Sound - What a location to dream! We called ourselves "Founders" The five included:

  • Tony Candido - Women's Basketball Official
  • Louise Albrecht - Collegiate Women's Athletic Director
  • Brenda Reilly - Collegiate Associate Athletic Director & Women's Basketball Coach
  • Linda Wooster - Collegiate Associate Women's Athletic Director
  • Ann Fariss, Ph.D. - Collegiate Athletic Director

After reviewing many other Halls of Fame, a constitution was written and approved. At that time there were no other State Hall of Fames for Women's Basketball in the country. The first induction ceremony was held in April, 1988 at 500 Blake Street Restaurant in New Haven. Individuals selected for induction into the Hall of Fame would be chosen either through participation, service, support or achievement in women's basketball within the State of Connecticut. By 2013, there have been 183 outstanding individuals inducted. Our establishing this Basketball Hall of Fame was an inspiration for other sport professionals to organize which includes softball, volleyball, and field hockey.

Home for the Hall

We are very proud to announce that our Gallery of Fame/Brenda Reilly Gallery has found a home. The Gallery will be housed in the lobby of Kaiser Gymnasium of the campus of Central Connecticut State University. The designated area is ideal as it will be visible to all who come through the doors. Visitors will be able to view photographs of those who have contributed to the unprecedented success of Connecticut women's basketball.. A very special thanks to Ann Fariss, Louise Albrecht and the Central Connecticut Administration for their efforts in turning a dream into reality. The dedication and opening ceremony was held on Saturday June 7th, 2003 at CCSU.